Home > Literaray Activities > People and Books




To complement the Meet the Author series, the Sahitya Akademi started another series entitled People and Books in 1989, in which distinguished persons from interdisciplinary areas are invited to give lectures. For example, a nuclear scientist, a surgeon, a musician, a painter, a dancer, a mathematician or a legal expert is requested to speak on literary books which he/she has enjoyed reading or which has given him/her new insights. The speaker is requested to speak for about 40 minutes after which the audience interacts with him/her.

The following celebrities have so far participated in this programme:

  • Jayant Narlikar (Distinguished scientist)
  • Mrinalini Sarabhai (Distinguished dancer)
  • Vijay Raghav Rao (Eminent flutist and music director)
  • Soumitra Chattopadhyay (Versatile actor)
  • Karan Singh (Eminent historian and philosopher)
  • L.M. Singhvi (Eminent lawyer and diplomat)
  • Suchitra Mitra (Eminent singer)
  • Salil Chowdhuri (Distinguished composer)
  • Chintamani Kar (Distinguished sculptor)
  • Shreeram Lagoo (Distinguished actor)
  • Andre Betaille (Eminent social anthropologist)
  • K.M. George (Eminent scholar)
  • E.M.S. Namboodripad (Eminent politician)
  • Atal Bihari Vajpeyi (Eminent politician)
  • Vasant Sathe (Eminent politician)
  • Nabendu Ghosh (Playwright)
  • Veerappa Moily (Kannada Writer and Eminent Politician)
  • Madhu Dandavate (Freedom Fighter)
  • B.P. Singh (Culture Theorist)
  • Dilip Padgaonkar (Eminent Journalist)
  • R.V. Vaidyanatha Ayyar (Culture Theorist)
  • Adoor Gopalakrishnan (Film Maker)
  • M.P. Prakash (Eminent Writer and Politician)
  • Nandkumar Kamat (Eminent Scholar and Sociologist)
  • Leena Fernandes at
  • Krishna Kumar at
  • Suvaprasanna (well known artis)
  • Sitakan Mahapatra (Distinguished Poet)
  • Ariban Shyam Sharma (Film Maker)
  • Tapan Sinha (Eminent Film Maker)
  • Sobha Brahma (Eminent artis)
  • Marudhar Mridul (Eminent lawyer, poet and social worker)
  • Motilal Jotwani (Eminent writer)
  • Jabbar Patel (Renowned theatre and Film Director)
  • Digambar Hansda (Santali writer)
  • (Eminent administrator)
  • Shimoga Subbanna, (Eminent Singer)
  • Pratapchandra Chandra (Eminent Educationist)
  • Anil C. Shah (Veteran Administrator and reader)
  • Datta Damodar Naik (Eminent Scholar and Businessman)
  • Nityanada Hembram (Eminent Writer and Social Activist)
  • Ashok Kumar Thakur (Veteran Engineer)
  • Sundarshan Iyengar (Distinguished Scholar and Educationist)
  • Arun Khopkar (Eminent Film-maker)
  • N. Manimozhian (Hotelier and Industrialist)
  • Lalit Mansingh (Veteran Administrator and reader)

|| Home | About Us | Contact Us | RTI | GST | Annual Report||
||Annual Immovable Property Return
| Grantees List ||
Last Updated : 21.02.2020