Home >World Poetry Fest >

Yashaschandra, Sitanshu

Eminent and prolific Gujarati poet, playwright and critic, Prof. Sitanshu Yashaschandra served as a  of Gujarati in M.S. University of Baroda and later as Vice-Chancellor, Saurashtra University, Rajkot.  Some of his important works are – Odysseum Halesum  and Jatayu, Simankan Ane Simallanghan, Ramaniyatano Vagvikalpa, A Manas Madrasi Lage Chhe, Kem Mahanji Kyan Chalya? Prof. Yashaschandra is the recipient of Sahitya Akademi Award, Rashtriya Kabir Samman and Indian National Theatre- Gujarat Samachar Award among others.

Narain, Kunwar

Eminent Hindi poet, Sri Kunwar Narain has been writing poetry over last six decades. Sri Narain has been a Co-editor of Yug-Chetna, Naya Prateek and Chhayanat. He has more than 30 publications to his credit in different genres like poetry, criticism, essays, interviews, fiction, translation etc. A number of his works have been translated into several Indian as well as foreign languages. He is the recipient of Padma Bhushan, Jnanpith Award, Sahitya Akademi Award, Kabir Samman, Vyasa Samman, Prem Chand Award, Lohia Samman, Kumaran Asan Award, Shalaka Samman, Warsaw University’s honorary medal and Italy’s Premio Feronia for distinguished international author among others. 

Rath, Ramakanta

One of the most renowned modernist poets in the Odia literature, Sri Ramakanta Rath retired as Chief Secretary, Odisha after holding several important posts in the Central Government such as Secretary to the Government of India. He was the Vice President and the President of the Sahitya Akademi. He has seven publications to his credit. A number of his poems have been translated into English and other Indian languages. He is the recipient of Padma Bhushan by the Government of India, Sahitya Akademi Fellowship, Sahitya Akademi Award, Saraswati Samman and Bishuva Samman among others.

Ibopishak Singh, Thangjam

One of the prominent poets of the Northeast of India, Thangjam Ibopishak Singh writes in Manipuri, the language of the indigenous Meitei community. He has published six volumes of poetry, three of which earned him some of the most prestigious awards in the state including the Manipur State Kala Akademi Award in 1986, the Jamini Sunder Guha Gold Medal in 1989, the First Jananeta Irabot Award in 1997 and the Ashangbam Minaketan Memorial Award in 2005.  He has also won the Sahitya Akademi Award for poetry in 1997. He teaches Manipuri at the GP Women’s College in Imphal. 

Sen, Mandakranta

Young Bengali poet Madakranta Sen has19 collections of poetry, 8 novels, collection of 3 novelettes, 2 collections of short stories, and a collection of essays to her credit. She also has Hindi translation of one of her novels and a collection of German translation of her poems. Ms Sen works as a translator, playwright, lyricist, composer, cover designer and editor of a little magazine as well. She has been one of the jurymembers of Sahitya Akademy`s Bal Sahitya Puraskar, and Gemkon Literary Award in Bangladesh. She has been awarded Sahitya Akademy Golden Jubilee Young Writers` Award, Ananda Puraskar, Krittibas Puraskar to name a few. She has travelled many places in India and abroad representing Bengali poetry. 

<- Previous _____________________________________________________

|| Home | About Us | Contact Us | RTI | GST | Annual Report||
||Annual Immovable Property Return
Last Updated : 15.10.2018