डॉ. के. श्रीनिवासराव सचिव Dr. K. Sreenivasarao Secretary

साहित्य अकादेमी

(राष्ट्रीय साहित्य संस्थान) संस्कृति मंत्रालय, भारत सरकार की स्वायत्तशासी संस्था

Sahitya Akademi



(National Academy of Letters) An Autonomous Organisation of Government of India, Ministry of Culture

SA/37/PR/2018

23.10.2018

For favour of Publication/Broadcast/Telecast

PRESS RELEASE YUVA PURASKAR 2018

Sahitya Akademi is organizing award ceremony to present the awards to its Yuva Puraskar 2018 awadees at 4.30 pm on 26th October 2018 at Tribal Research Institute Auditorium Chingmeirong, Imphal, Manipur. Vice President, Sri Madhav Kaushik, will present the prestigious Sahitya Akademi Yuva Puraskar 2018 to 22 awardees in the form of a casket containing an engraved copper-plaque and a cheque of Rs. 50,000/- will be presented to the awardees at the special function. The Award ceremony will begin at 4:30 pm with the welcome speech by Dr. K Sreenivasarao, Secretary Sahitya Akademi. Eminent English Writer Ms. Esther David will grace the occasion as the Chief Guest. Vice President, Sri Madhav Kaushik, Sahitya Akademi will also address the gathering which will be followed by cultural performance of Basant Ras & Pung Cholam by Jawaharlal Nehru Manipuri Dance Academy at 6.30 p.m.

On 27 October 20178 Writers' Meet will be held at 09.30 a.m. at Tribal Research Institute Auditorium Conference Hall, Chingmeirong, Imphal, Manipur where the award winning authors will speak about their works and experiences. Sri Madhav Kaushik, Vice-President, Sahitya Akademi will preside the session. In the afternoon 2:00 p.m. All India Young Writers' Festival will be inaugurated. Eminent Odia writer Dr. Gourahari Das will give Introductory Speech. Dr. K. Sreenivasa Rao, Secretary Sahitya Akademi will welcome the guest followed poetry readings by poets from various Indian Languages : Lipi Oza (Gujarati), Abhinav Mishra (Hindi), Vikram Hathwar (Kannada), Laishram Amarjit Singh (Manipuri), D.Veena Vani (Telugu) and Chingngaihlun(Paite).

The festival will begin on 28 October 2018 at 10 am and will have three sessions. The first session on *Why Do I Write?* will be chaired by Dr. Aziz Hajini and Koushiki Dasgupta (Bengali), Mahesh Dattatraya Londhe (Marathi) and Karthick Pugazhendhi (Tamil) will share their experiences. The second session, entitled Story Reading will begin at 12 noon. It will be chaired by Sri Yumlebam Ibomcha and Rupali Swargiary (Bodo), Sarvesh Eknath Naik (Konkani), Shine Shoukkathali (Malayalam), Salge Hansdah (Santali) and F. Lalzuithanga (Mizo) will present their stories. The third session which will start at 2:00 pm will be chaired by Prof. N. Tombi Singh and Pratim Baruah (Assamese), Rajinder Ranja (Dogri), Tahir Ahmad Bagath (Kashmiri), Prashant Kumar Jha (Maithili), Narmada Sahu (Odia), Gagan Deep Singh Sandhu (Punjabi), Arvind Kumar Tiwari (Sanskrit), Mamta Parwani (Sindhi), Barnali Manta (Tiwa) and Azhar Igbal (Urdu) will recite their poems.

(K. Sreenivasarao)