डॉ. के. श्रीनिवासराव सचिव Dr. K. Sreenivasarao Secretary



Sahitya Akademi

(National Academy of Letters) An Autonomous Organisation of Government of India, Ministry of Culture

SA.61/24/TP/PR/

15 July 2025

For favour of Publication/Broadcast/Telecast

PRESS RELEASE SAHITYA AKADEMI TRANSLATION PRIZE 2024 IN NEPALI

Dr. Madhav Kaushik, President, Sahitya Akademi, has approved Sahitya Akademi Translation Prize 2024 in Nepali to Sri Amar Baaniyaa 'Lohoro' for 'Maatribhuumi' (Novel) translation of Dr. Nirmal Walia's Hindi Novel 'Vatan'. The book was selected on the basis of recommendation made by the Jury comprising three members in accordance with the rules and procedures laid down for the purpose. The book was selected on the basis of the Majority vote by the Jury. The names of the Jury members on whose recommendation the Sahitya Akademi Translation Prize 2024 in Nepali is declared are given below:

La	ng	gu	ag	e
----	----	----	----	---

Jury Members

Nepali

- 1. Sri Chabilal Upadhyaya
- 2. Sri Yuvraj Kafley
- 3. Sri Chunilal Ghimerey

The Prize carries an amount of Rs.50,000/- and a copper plaque which will be presented to the translator of this book at a special function to be held sometime later this year.

(K. Sreenivasarao)

LIST OF BOOKS RECOMMENDED FOR THE 2024 SAHITYA AKADEMI TRANSLATION PRIZE IN NEPALI

S.NO.	TITLE OF THE TRANSLATION	TRANSLATOR	YEAR OF FIRST PUBLICATION	TITLE OF THE ORIGINAL WORK AND GENRE	LANGUAGE OF THE ORIGINAL	AUTHOR
1.	Bahunichari	Dambar Dahal	2019	Balimahi (Poetry)	Assamese	Dhaneswar Engti
2.	Dhartika Geetharu	Garima Rai	2021	The Earth's Songs (Short Stories)	English	K. C. Baral
3.	Euta Bato	Badri Guragain	2021	Dwngse Lana (Short Stories)	Bodo	Rituraj Basumatary
4.	Kapalkundala	Rewatimohan Timsina	2021	Kapal - Kundla (Novel)	Bengali	Bankimchandra Chatterjee
5.	Maatribhuumi	Amar Baaniyaa 'Lohoro'	2020	Vatan (Novel)	Hindi	Nirmal Walia
6.	Noonko Chiya	Samik Chakraborty	2022	Noon Cha (Novel)	Bengali	Bimal Lama
7.	Manimahesh	Mukti Prasad Upadhyay	2018	Manimahesh	Bengali	Umaprasad Mukhopadhyay

The Jury selected *Maatribhuumi* translated by **Amar Baaniyaa 'Lohoro'** for the Translation Prize on the basis of **majority**.