डॉ. के. श्रीनिवासराव सचिव Dr. K. Sreenivasarao Secretary (राष्ट्रीय साहित्य संस्थान) संस्कृति मंत्रालय, भारत सरकार की स्वायत्तशासी संस्था

Sahitya Akademi

(National Academy of Letters)
An Autonomous Organisation of Government of India, Ministry of Culture



SA.16/14/BS/PN/

15 June 2024

PRESS NOTE Sahitya Akademi Bhasha Samman 2021

The Executive Board of the Sahitya Akademi which met at Statue of Unity, Kevadia, Gujarat on Saturday, 15 June 2024, under the Chairmanship of its President, Sri Madhav Kaushik, approved Bhasha Samman to Dr. Purushottam Agrawal in recognition of their valuable contribution in the field of Classical and Medieval Literature from the Northern Region for the year 2021.

Bhasha Samman carries a cash prize of Rs.1,00,000/-, an inscribed copper plaque and citation. The Samman will be presented to him by the President of the Sahitya Akademi at a special function to be held later. The brief bio-data of the Bhasha Samman Awardee and the names of the members of the Jury are given below:

Dr. Purushottam Agrawal is a prominent Hindi critic, poet, thinker and storyteller. He knows Hindi, Khadi boli, Braj, Awadhi, Bundeli, English and can read Urdu, Bengali and Sanskrit. He has made outstanding contribution to the field of Classical and Medieval Literature. He authored and edited several books including *Akath Kahani Prem Ki: Kabir Ki Kavita Aur Unka Samay, Padmavat: An Epic Love Story, Hindi Serai: Astrakhan via Yerevan, Nacohus* and *Teesra Rukh, etc.* Purushottam Agrawal's work on Kabir is seminal in the modern context. His modern considered highly important. The judgment he has given by testing Kabir and his philosophy of scientific parameters is excellent. He is decorated with honours that include Rajkamal Prakashan Kriti Samman, British Academy Fellow, Mukutdhar Pandey Samman, Devi Shankar Awasthy Samman.

JURY: Dr. Chandra Prakash Deval, Dr. Mahesh Chandra Sharma 'Gautam' and Dr. Udaya Pratap Singh.

For favour of Publication/Broadcast/Telecast.

(K. Sreenivasarao)

डॉ. के. श्रीनिवासराव सचिव Dr. K. Sreenivasarao Secretary

Sahitva Akademi

(National Academy of Letters) An Autonomous Organisation of Government of India, Ministry of Culture

SA.16/14/BS/PN/

15 June 2024

PRESS NOTE Sahitya Akademi Bhasha Samman 2023

The Executive Board of the Sahitya Akademi which met at Statue of Unity, Kevadia, Gujarat on Saturday, 15 June 2024, under the Chairmanship of its President, Sri Madhay Kaushik, approved Bhasha Sammans to two writers/scholars in recognition of their valuable contribution in the field of Classical and Medieval Literature from the Northern and Southern Regions for the year 2023.

Bhasha Samman carries a cash prize of Rs.1,00,000/-, an inscribed copper plague and citation. The Sammans will be presented to them by the President of the Sahitya Akademi at a special function to be held later. The brief bio-data of the Bhasha Samman Awardees and the names of the members of the Jury are given below:

NORTHERN REGION (2023)

Prof. Avtar Singh is a retired Professor of Punjabi, an essayist, a speaker and a biographer. He authored three books, Sikh Saintan, Ratnawali and An Essayist Kapur Singh. He is an essayist par excellence, a new age essayist who composes his thoughts on the digital platform, the Facebook, reflecting on the issues of concern for the people and showing them up in their true light. He is an extraordinary practitioner of Punjabi language. He has participated in many national and international seminars and conferences, and has made outstanding contribution to the field of Classical and Medieval Literature.

JURY: Prof. Jaspal Singh, Dr. Sheen Kaaf Nizam and Prof. Rajnish Kumar Mishra.

SOUTHERN REGION (2023)

Dr. K.G. Paulose is a Sanskrit scholar of the University of Kerala, knows English, Sanskrit and Malayalam. He has made outstanding contribution to the field of Classical and Medieval Literature. He has authored 20 books in English, Malayalam and edited over fifty books. He published 50 research papers and over one hundred papers in Sanskrit on various aspects of theatre, literary criticism, social and contemporary issues. He is associated with different academic positions. Dr. Paulose is a recipient of several awards that include Kerala Sanskrit Academy Award, Abudhabi Sakti Award, Kerala Sangeet Natak Akademi Award, Dr. C.P. Menon Smaraka Puraskaram.

JURY: Dr. C. Rajendran, Dr. R. Anantha Padmanabha Rao and Dr. Hampa Nagarajaiah.

For favour of Publication/Broadcast/Telecast.

(K. Sreenivasarao)

डॉ. के. श्रीनिवासराव सचिव Dr. K. Sreenivasarao Secretary

(राष्ट्रीय साहित्य संस्थान) संस्कृति मंत्रालय, भारत सरकार की स्वायत्तशासी संस्था

Sahitya Akademi

प साहित्य संस्थान) स्वायत्तशासी संस्था Akademi

(National Academy of Letters)
An Autonomous Organisation of Government of India, Ministry of Culture

SA.16/14/BS/PN/

15 June 2024

PRESS NOTE Sahitya Akademi Bhasha Samman

The Executive Board of the Sahitya Akademi which met at Statue of Unity, Kevadia, Gujarat on Saturday, 15 June 2024, under the Chairmanship of its President, Sri Madhav Kaushik approved Bhasha Sammans to writers/scholars of the following **unrecognised languages for their valuable contribution for the enrichment of the respective languages**.

Bhasha Samman carries a cash prize of Rs.1,00,000/-, an inscribed copper plaque and citation. The Samman will be presented to them by the President of the Sahitya Akademi at a special function to be held later. The brief bio-datas of the Bhasha Samman Awardees and the names of the members of the Jury are given below:

MIZO (2023) Jointly

Sri Renthlei Lalrawna is an eminent Mizo writer, essayist, translator and educationist. He holds Master's Degree in Philosophy. At present, he is Editor of Gilzom Publication. He has to his credit 30 books including translations, besides has written more than 30 significant articles. He also has three collections of poems/songs. Some of his books are *Kha Leh Tui, Thalaite Thian, Chhungkaw Intodelhna, Mother Teresa, Mizo Rohlu, The Robe and Julius Ceaser.* He has been working inexorably and relentlessly for the development of Mizo language, literature, literacy and culture.

Sri Rozama Chawngthu is a noted Mizo writer and translator. He holds a Master's Degree in Political Science and PG Diploma in Journalism. He has authored and translated 19 books including *English Zirna, Social Studies Note by Four Teachers, Dictionary of Music, Cricket Zir Tan Bu, Hunbi Chhiarna.* He has written various plays in Mizo, staged by several drama clubs and broadcast over Akashvani and Doordarshan Aizawl Kendra. He was awarded the National Award for Outstanding Teachers by the then President of India, Dr. APJ Abdul Kalam. He has been indefatigably working for the development of Mizo language.

Jury: Sri R. Lallianzuala, Prof. Rualkhuma Colney and Dr. Darchuailova Renthlei

BUNDELI (2023)

Pt. Durgacharan Shukla is an eminent Bundeli scholar. He is a living embodiment of Indian literature, culture, spirituality and philosophy. His seminal publications include *Bundeli Shabdon ka Vyutpati Kosh, Maharshi Agastya Drishta Rigved Mantra Bhashya, Rishi Haygrivkrit 'Shakt Darshanam'* and *Agastyakrit 'Shaktisutram', Brahmavadini – Drashta Mantra Bhashya evam Avadan,* etc. His book Choudah Vidyaen aur Chousath Kalaon mein Antar Sambandh is in press. He is decorated with several Awards and Honors including Maharishi Agastsya Alankaran, Sanskrityayn Samman, Swami Vishnutirth Aadhyatmik Granth Samman, Tulsi Manas Pratishthan, Purna Saraswati Samman.

Jury: Dr. Shyamsundar Dubey, Dr. Virendra Nirjhar and Dr. Bahadur Singh Parmar

For favour of Publication/Broadcast/Telecast.

(K. Sreenivasarao)